Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Angry Study Participant pt.2  (Read 5633 times)
dennis100
Moderators

« on: January 19, 2015, 08:07:15 AM »

Depression support organizations? Don't they host "fun runs" and have web sites that provide message boards and lists of resources? They don't have a right to my life story!

My information would also be made available to personnel at the university from which I graduated.

And I don't want Cyberonics using me to fuel its propaganda machine, spreading the word at all levels of the Depression Industry that its device should be sold to vulnerable patients. But of course, that's exactly what it's doing.

And it's doing a masterful job of generating favorable coverage on many web sites, in medical journals and in the mass media, based upon study data that informed experts find "astonishingly weak."

My secrets, kept forever, in a vault that has a big welcome mat.

So they were collecting my very personal history, not just to be used for one study and destroyed, but to be kept in perpetuity for others to use. I picture a big vault, in which my nightmares repose, ready to be serve the purposes of whomever might come along, to achieve a goal I can't even imagine.

KISS YOUR PRIVACY AND SENSE OF DIGNITY GOODBYE

Instead of its pathetically weak reassurance that, "Every reasonable effort will be made to keep the information private," why didn't the company make a forceful guarantee: "Cyberonics pledges that your privacy will be fully protected, and it has in place a protocol that makes it impossible for any personally identifiable information about you to be accessed by its own personnel, or by anyone else. Cyberonics agrees to be legally and financially liable for any breach. Any injured party will be eligible for both punitive and compensatory damages."

(Just kidding)

The firm offers no such guarantee, and in fact it guarantees quite the opposite, as its consent form made disgracefully clear.