Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: VNS issues with 12 year old disabled son  (Read 6439 times)
theathorne

« on: December 30, 2008, 02:21:45 AM »

Hi to all, I am new to this message board. I happened to come across you guys when I was researching my son's newly developed health issues. He was born with microcephaly and therefore has spastic cerebral palsy with varying types of seizures presenting. He has been on every seizure med known with little success and he was implanted in 2007. I had no idea there could be so many problems!!! He developed worsening of his seizures while in the hospital in August after spinal rod surgery so they ramped up his VNS and had it firing every 30 sec and off for .8 min..... within one month he developed severe respiratory distress, heart rate variants from 45-155...had to start him on oxygen during the day and CPAP at night....I thought we were going to lose him....his neuro wouldn't listen to me and refused to turn it back down so I taped the magnet on it to turn it off and took him to the surgeon that put it in. He adjusted it back down and said now we know his high parameters!!!! He has been to heart and lung doctors and no one has an answer as to what happened to him...but I know...it was the VNS:( As a Registered Nurse I am very dissapointed in the medical profession of today. Do you guys still have yours in and just monitor closely? I am torn as to what to do for my son...he is nonverbal and can't tell me when things are wrong... thanks for your time. Thea-mother of Michael  
labrat
Global Moderators

« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2008, 05:03:32 AM »

Welcome to the board! In answer to your question, I have had my VNS for over 4 years, but I haven't had any problems except the battery going dead.

I'm sorry your son is having so many problems with his VNS and can't tell you how it feels.

I wish everyone could have success with it, but it isn't so.

Keep us posted on how he is doing. We care!

Birdbomb
Head Cheese