Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Check Your Facts  (Read 4111 times)
oreo
Moderators

« on: April 17, 2008, 04:10:28 AM »

I'm writing as a person who has had some problems with my VNS and I am trying to keep my eye on what's going on with Cyberonics and any legal action taking place.  I am NOT a lawyer or an expert of any kind.  I am concerned that some of the info being posted here MAY be causing some confusion.

The case Keith cited that is causing concern, Riegel v. Medtronic, Inc., may have been interpreted incorrectly.  The fact that a device has PMA (pre-market approval) by the FDA does not prevent a person from seeking legal recourse if their specific unit/device was defective and caused injury.  It does not prevent a consumer from seeking legal recourse if the doctor who implanted it was negligent and caused injury.  

Riegel v. Medtronic had to do with the consumer trying to use state law to over ride the criteria established by the FDA.  The FDA established PMA in part, because some states did not have adequate laws to help the consumer.  To obtain PMA a device has to go thru a "rigorous process" that is "focused on safety".  That doesn't mean there aren't many individual cases that for many different reasons cause injury to the patient.  AND YOU CAN SEEK LEGAL RECOURSE.  You can't have a lawyer try to use state laws that are different from or in addition to the FDA criteria which relates to the safety or effectiveness of the device.

In one of the links (I can't find it now) I read on this forum, the doctor who inserted the catheter in Mr. Riegel ignored packaging directions and 1) used the catheter in a manner it was not designed for and 2) inflated the device far above the instructed level.  From the info provided in everything I've read so far...Medtronics was not to blame...the doctor was.  I haven't seen anything posted about whether they sued the doctor???