Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: not sure about a VNS  (Read 13674 times)
worried
« on: May 09, 2006, 04:12:08 PM »

I am new hear I signed it says my account is being reviewd.  My seizures will be controled for  a year or so  and then the come back. The dr has tried all the meds they can, now he wants me to have a meg scan and have a vns put in. Im worried there has to be side effects with a vns. Can it not cause brain damage over time? have you all had good things happen with it? I just graduated collage and am about to get married I dont want anything bad to happen.
              The bad thing is im a teacher and just had a seizure in the classroom. Please talk to me
Birdbomb
Head Cheese
Administrator

Head Cheese

« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2006, 01:46:00 PM »

My apologies as this message was not posted sooner.  InvisionFree had recently upgraded the server and there are a few flaws in the system.  Your post was not visual until today. :huh:

As with medication, VNS also has side effects.  No one can say if you will experiance any adverse effects, or if you do, how severe they may affect you.

You will have to be the judge on whether or not to get the VNS.  Research as much as you can, read the Physician and Patient Manuals.  Found here.  Talk to people with the VNS, both those who have good and bad experiances.  Educate yourself and be aware of all the possibilities.

:Welcome: Welcome to the board, SarahJane25 .  You have found a great bunch of folks.

"If you are going through hell, keep going." (Sir Winston Churchill, 1874-1965)
VNS implanted Sept 02, turned off Dec 04, Generator ex-planted Nov 07
Electrodes are in me for LIFE!
Bernard
Excelsior!
Global Moderators

« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2006, 01:19:15 AM »

... side effects with a vns. Can it not cause brain damage over time? have you all had good things happen with it? I just graduated collage and am about to get married I dont want anything bad to happen.
Hi Worried, welcome to the forum.  :Welcome: